6-9-2010 Wednesday – Why am I doing this?

A question I have been asking myself.

I have essentially stopped watching TV.  I will watch some College Football.  I will watch movies.  But as the father of elementary school children the TV is ‘locked’ on Nick and Disney and Animal Planet.  When the kids go to bed my wife watches various ‘Reality’ programs that are, frankly, an insult to even my dubious intelligence.

I have always been a big reader of fiction and upon obtaining my Nook I either read that or read the articles on the Internet I am now sharing with you.

Until last fall I spent the previous 15 years working for large corporations on teams varying from 20 to 100 employees.  During those years I more and more frequently shared Internet articles via email and included ‘witty’ commentary…well, witty to me and ‘most’ of the team members.  It didn’t occur to me I had started ‘blogging’.

Recently I went to work for a small privately owned firm that ‘frowns’ on this sort of thing…so, my ‘outlet’ was cutoff…not my reading.

As part of this ‘career transition’ I was directed to LinkedIn and read the book “Anywhere“.  I made a resolution to actively manage my online identity.  But I still had no ‘outlet’ for my thoughts about what interests me.  Well, one day I was perusing the LinkedIn applications and found WordPress.

But I still haven’t answered the question – “Why am I doing this?”

This week I got ‘my’ answer in an article by Wired Magazine – “Cognitive Surplus: The Great Spare-Time Revolution“.

…behavior is motivation filtered through opportunity.

– Clay Shirky, author of:  “Cognitive Surplus: Creativity and Generosity in a Connected Age”

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

